Old 03-08-12, 04:27 PM   #1
Newcomer
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 28
Default Best r4 type card?

Chaps,
My kids all have older DSTT cards for their DS Lites. The are now having problems with more recent DS Lite games running on them.

What is the best R4 type card that will better handle more recent games?

Cheers
Meurig06 is offline  
Old 03-08-12, 04:35 PM   #2
Apprentice
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 355
Acekard 2i w/ AKAIO firmware

it has a bit of a learning curve though but once you have it configured, it works like a charm
Trireaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-12, 05:16 PM   #3
Newcomer
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 91
I'm also using Acekard 2i.
GTRagnarok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-12, 05:43 PM   #4
Watching, and waiting


Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: It's not cold until it's below 0
Posts: 1,420
My vote is for the Acekard 2i as well.
Quote: Originally Posted by Trireaper
it has a bit of a learning curve
I would agree, however, I'm not real computer savvy, and if I can figure it out, you can too.
cdahl4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-12, 05:50 PM   #5
Newcomer
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 93
supercard is awesome
desper4t3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-12, 07:03 PM   #6
Newcomer

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 72
acekard 2i or supercard dstwo are probably the top 2 (but more expensive), but there still are lots of good cards (and lots of bad), something cheaper and still up-to-date is the r4i-sdhc.com card.
lukadox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-12, 07:56 PM   #7
Avid Gamer

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dodger Town
Posts: 1,445
how about for the 3ds??
wingomeza is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-12, 07:58 PM   #8
Apprentice
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 355
3ds hasnt been figured out yet. just gotta wait and maybe they will
Trireaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-12, 08:18 PM   #9
Avid Gamer

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dodger Town
Posts: 1,445
Quote: Originally Posted by Trireaper View Post
3ds hasnt been figured out yet. just gotta wait and maybe they will
thanks! i was about to buy r4gold card thinking it was functional with 3ds
wingomeza is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-12, 03:51 AM   #10
Apprentice
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 355
just looked up some stuff.... it TECHNICALLY works with the 3DS but not the 3DS games themselves
Trireaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-12, 11:03 AM   #11
Newcomer

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 96
I've got an Acekard 2i to play DS games on my 3DS and I love it. Definately better than my old G6 card.
PhrawzT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-12, 04:47 PM   #12
Newcomer
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 28
Cheers guys, looks like acekard it is then.
Meurig06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-12, 04:08 PM   #13
Newcomer
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 28
Guys, it appears to be a lot more difficult to get a reliable seller for the acekard. Can anyone suggest an EU based supplier that is reliable and as above board as someone can be selling these cards?

cheers
Meurig06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-12, 05:13 PM   #14
Newcomer
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
http://eng.supercard.sc/manual/dstwo/
Ds Super Card TWO is good. They still support it unlike the EZ-FLASH IV I bought for my Gameboy Advance which I thought would still have even a website up but discovered I was going to spend the next month of my free time writing the firmware for this devil. I got it working in the end by studying some skin files I found online and their structure, you had to skin the OS so the skin files and the skinning utility gave me a lot of clues. If anyone wants a copy of that let me know I'll get it to you.

But yah the Super Card DS TWO is still supported, and well too; which reminds me there is a new firmware I have to Download. It's good if you have a DSi or DSi XL, they have a GBA emulator for it which is great.

I had the DS Super Card TWO first and I thought the EZ Flash-IV would be the same deal.

http://gbatemp.net/t232281-supercard-dstwo-review

Please remember to code tag any external links, an easy way is to highlight your links and press the "#" button on the toolbar.
Or you can manually type in the code tags... [code]Links[/code]
[url] tags need to be removed from links as they make the links live (click-able), they do not display correctly & send a referrer when clicked ie our site details get sent to the other site which can be problematic



TheWang

Last edited by TheWang; 04-15-12 at 11:22 AM.
constantgamer247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 AM.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.